The Five Kleshas

This topic (and image) from The Yoga Sutras came up in my yoga therapy training yesterday. It’s very important for us to be able to recognize the five kleshas (obstacles, afflictions, or poisons) when they show up in our lives – which tends to be many times each day. Notice that ignorance (of our True Self, or True Nature) is the root of the other kleshas. We don’t need to let these afflictions rule our lives.

Ego means focusing on “I, me, and mine,” being self-centered.

Attachment means clinging intensely to things we love.

Aversion means trying too hard to avoid things we dislike.

Clinging to life means fear in general or fear of death, aging, etc.

Makes good sense, yes?

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s